I earn money working, do I have to report it?
Answer: Yes. If you work, whether it’s full time or an odd job, you
must report all earnings for the week in which you work, even if you have not
yet been paid. Include all income, commissions and tips. Report the gross
amount before deductions.
I get a part-time job, am I still eligible for unemployment benefits?
Answer: Maybe. Part-time workers filing for benefits must report wages
earned before deductions. You may still be eligible for partial unemployment
benefits. Not reporting part-time earnings while claiming unemployment benefits
is fraud and will result in an overpayment. You will have to pay the
unemployment money back before you can receive benefits again, and possibly
there any other wages/earnings I must let the Kentucky Office of Unemployment
Insurance know about?
Answer: You MUST tell us if you receive or expect to receive any
money from your employer. This includes vacation or holiday pay, bonuses,
severance pay, separation pay, wages in lieu of notice, tips, commissions,
military retirement pay, workers’ compensation, WARN Act and any other payment
based on your previous work.
If you do not tell us about these payments, you could be
disqualified from receiving unemployment benefits and you will have to
reimburse the division any benefits you have received.
What happens if I do not report earnings?
unemployment payment you get that you are not supposed to receive is considered
an improper payment. Kentucky’s
Office of Unemployment Insurance has many means for recovering overpayments. We
pursue all allowable collection efforts, including deducting money from future
unemployment benefit payments, intercepting both your federal and/or state
income tax refunds, and prosecuting fraud cases as Class D felonies.
If you have been overpaid benefits because of
You will be ineligible to receive any future benefits until
you repay the amount you owe.
You will be disqualified from receiving benefits for up
to 52 weeks following the
date the overpayment is established.
· A penalty of 15 percent will be assessed on all overpayments.
· You will be charged 1.5 percent interest per month on the principal balance.
· A lien will be filed against you. This lien will not be released until the debt is paid in full.
· Your state and/or federal income tax refunds will be intercepted to put towards your overpayment.
· You may be referred for prosecution.
Kentucky Division of Unemployment Insurance uses many sources that report when you return to work. Failure to accurately report your earnings may result in an improper payment. Any overpayment of unemployment benefits must be repaid.
If you have questions concerning your
unemployment benefits, please go to kcc.ky.gov to review the Rights and
Responsibilities pamphlet or contact the UI Help Line at 502-564-2900.
Commit Fraud Video - Sometimes Good People Make Bad Decisions
If you know of anyone collecting unemployment insurance (UI) benefits while working, while unable to work or when he or she is not eligible to receive these benefits, please anonymously use the following report form, simply email firstname.lastname@example.org
or call 502-564-2387.